The Paramount Theatre

Follow us:

Classic Film Series

Last year, the Paramount Theatre celebrated its 100th birthday, and now, as the Paramount Summer Classic Film Series marks its 41st year, we are ushering in a new era thanks to the arrival of digital cinema (DCP) at the Paramount, along with an all-new, crystal-clear sound system and a shimmering new screen. Don’t worry, 35mm fans: we will continue to champion the preservation and exhibition of actual film by showing 35mm and 70mm prints whenever available. DCP simply allows us to expand the catalog of movies we bring to you every summer, so look forward to seeing dozens of movies this summer that have not been featured at the Paramount in quite a long time, if ever. From pristine film prints to all-new digital restorations, this year’s series will be a more enticing and inviting escape from the Austin heat than ever before!
 


Admission & Ticket Information

  • Online Advance Admission – $12 (includes a $1 preservation fee)
  • Regular Admission – $12 (available at Paramount Box Office on day of show and includes a $1 preservation fee)
  • Film Fan Admission – $7 Become a Film Fan
  • Flix-Tix Booklet – $60 (10 admissions – good in any combination; expires September 4, 2016; discount available to Film Fans)

Double Features: When two movies that are screening in the same theatre are grouped under the same thematic heading, one ticket is good for both features when viewed back-to-back on the same day (except as noted).

Film Fan Club

  • Become a Film Fan today! Enjoy quintessential Film Fan benefits like discounted or free admission, convenient parking, complimentary popcorn, premium seating + much more.
    View the complete list of Film Fan benefits. (After purchase, your badge will be ready for pick up in two working days. If you need to rush this order please call 512-474-1221 ext.1).
  • FLIX-TIX – THE BEST SUMMER MOVIE BARGAIN
    Flix-Tix gives you a book of 10 admissions for $60 ($50 for Film Fans), good in any combination for any Paramount Presented Film (unless otherwise noted). You can buy Flix-Tix online, by phone at 472-5470 ext 1, or in person at the Paramount Box Office (expires September 4, 2016).

SCHEDULE

The Beginning of a Beautiful Friendship: May 26th – June 5th
Glorious 35mm film prints paired with shimmering digital restorations

Thursday, May 26

OPENING NIGHT FILM!

7pm Casablanca

75TH ANNIVERSARY!

9pm The Maltese Falcon


Friday, May 27


Saturday, May 28

NEW DCP RESTORATION!

3pm The Third Man

75TH ANNIVERSARY!

5pm Citizen Kane


Sunday, May 29


Tuesday, May 31

8:50pm Cabaret


Thursday, June 2

30TH ANNIVERSARY!

7pm Labyrinth


Friday, June 3


Sunday, June 5

FAMILY FILM FESTIVAL KICKOFF DOUBLE FEATURE!
20TH ANNIVERSARY!

2pm Space Jam


Talking Politics: June 7th – June 12th
Celebrate the end of primary season with these political classics

Tuesday, June 7


Wednesday, June 8


Thursday, June 9

40TH ANNIVERSARY!

7pm All the President’s Men


Sunday, June 12

FAMILY FILM FESTIVAL
75TH ANNIVERSARY!

1pm Dumbo


A Wild Week of Westerns: June 13th – June 17th
Saddle up for a week-long journey through the American frontier

Monday, June 13

60TH ANNIVERSARY!

9:20pm The Searchers


Tuesday, June 14


Wednesday, June 15

50TH ANNIVERSARY!

7pm The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly


Thursday, June 16


Friday, June 17

8:55pm High Noon


The Wonders of the Human Mind: June 18th & 19th
Psychiatry was never more thrilling

Saturday, June 18

FAMILY FILM FESTIVAL

1pm A Little Princess


Sunday, June 19


Schemers and Dreamers: June 21st – June 23rd
You don’t have to tell these doomed characters about “best laid plans…”

Tuesday, June 21


Wednesday, June 22


Thursday, June 23

7pm Laura

20TH ANNIVERSARY!

8:45pm Fargo


A Pair of Parodies: June 24th
Two contemporary comedies that turned genres upside down

Friday, June 24


An Epic Weekend: June 25th & 26th
Better clear your schedule

Saturday, June 25


Sunday, June 26

FAMILY FILM FESTIVAL

1pm The Adventures of Robin Hood

3:30pm Ben-Hur


Silent Anniversaries: June 28th & 29th
The oldest classics of cinema in one of the oldest movie palaces in the world

Tuesday, June 28

100TH ANNIVERSARY!

7pm Intolerance


Wednesday, June 29

80TH ANNIVERSARY!

7pm Modern Times

95TH ANNIVERSARY – NEW DCP RESTORATION!

8:45pm The Kid


Song and Dance: July 5th – July 10th
Because nothing beats leaving a movie theatre with a dance in your step and a song in your heart

Tuesday, July 5

7pm Oklahoma!


Wednesday, July 6

60TH ANNIVERSARY!

7pm The King and I


Thursday, July 7

7pm Gigi

15TH ANNIVERSARY!

9:15pm Moulin Rouge!


Friday, July 8


Saturday, July 9

FAMILY FILM FESTIVAL

3pm The Sound of Music

SPECIAL SING-ALONG EVENT!

7pm Grease


Sunday, July 10

MARTINIS AND MANICURES!


Are You for Real?: July 12th – July 14th
In these sci-fi classics, it’s hard to tell

Tuesday, July 12

7pm Metropolis


Wednesday, July 13

7pm The Thing

9:05pm Blade Runner


Thursday, July 14

9:15pm The Thing


The Lord of the Rings Trilogy: July 15th – July 17th
Travel from the Shire to Mount Doom with the Extended Editions of Peter Jackson’s masterpiece

Friday, July 15

15TH ANNIVERSARY!

7pm The Fellowship of the Ring


Saturday, July 16

2pm The Two Towers


Sunday, July 17

2pm The Return of the King


Trois Auteurs: July 19th – July 24th
Three filmmakers whose style and unique approach are unmistakable

Tuesday, July 19

30TH ANNIVERSARY!

7pm Hannah and Her Sisters

9:05pm Annie Hall


Wednesday, July 20

30TH ANNIVERSARY!

7pm Annie Hall


Thursday, July 21

50TH ANNIVERSARY!

9:05pm Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?


Friday, July 22

IRON & WINE PRESENTS

7pm Computer Chess


Sunday, July 24

2pm M*A*S*H

4:15pm Nashville


Summer School: July 25th – August 7th
We’ll try to make it as fun as possible

Monday, July 25

SCREENWRITING 101: SUFFERING FOR YOUR ART

7pm Adaptation

25TH ANNIVERSARY!

9:10pm Barton Fink


Wednesday, July 27


Thursday, July 28


Friday, July 29

PHYSICAL EDUCATION 101: WORKING ON A DREAM

7pm Hoop Dreams


Saturday, July 30

FAMILY FILM FESTIVAL
50TH ANNIVERSARY!

1pm Batman: The Movie

3:30pm Goodfellas

6:10pm Reservoir Dogs


Sunday, July 31


Tuesday, August 2

LITERATURE 101: TAKE A LOOK, IT’S IN A BOOK

7pm The Age of Innocence


Wednesday, August 3

20TH ANNIVERSARY!

7pm Romeo + Juliet

9:15pm Orlando


Thursday, August 4

KLEPTOMANIA 101: HOW TO GET AWAY WITH IT

7pm The Italian Job

50TH ANNIVERSARY!

8:55pm How to Steal a Million


Friday, August 5


Saturday, August 6

FAMILY FILM FESTIVAL

1pm Aladdin

ZOOLOGY 101: NOT A PETTING ZOO

3:15pm Jaws

5:30pm Jurassic Park


Sunday, August 7

4:30pm Jaws


Foreign Films Week: August 9th – August 14th
The finest works of cinema from around the globe

Tuesday, August 9

50TH ANNIVERSARY!

7pm Persona

50TH ANNIVERSARY!

8:40pm Blow-Up


Wednesday, August 10

70TH ANNIVERSARY – NEW 35MM RESTORATION!

7pm Beauty and the Beast

8:50pm The Red Shoes


Thursday, August 11


Sunday, August 14

FAMILY FILM FESTIVAL

1pm Annie

NEW DCP RESTORATION!

3:45pm Ran


Hitchcock Week: August 16th – August 21st
The master is back for another round

Tuesday, August 16

70TH ANNIVERSARY!

7:15pm Notorious

60TH ANNIVERSARY!

8:45pm The Man Who Knew Too Much

60TH ANNIVERSARY!

9:15pm The Lady Vanishes


Wednesday, August 17


Thursday, August 18

65TH ANNIVERSARY!

7pm Strangers on a Train

75TH ANNIVERSARY!

9pm Suspicion


Friday, August 19


Saturday, August 20

FAMILY FILM FESTIVAL

1pm Mary Poppins

6:05pm Psycho


Sunday, August 21

2pm Psycho


70MM Week!!: August 23rd – August 28th
Because the big screen deserves BIG films

Tuesday, August 23

7pm 2001: A Space Odyssey


Wednesday, August 24

7pm 2001: A Space Odyssey


Thursday, August 25

7pm Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade


Friday, August 26

7pm Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade


Saturday, August 27

3pm Lawrence of Arabia


Sunday, August 28

2pm Lawrence of Arabia


Icons of the Cinema: August 30th – September 3rd
Two legendary movie stars who grace big screens and gift shop T-shirts everywhere

Tuesday, August 30


Wednesday, August 31


Thursday, September 1


Friday, September 2


Saturday, September 3

FAMILY FILM FESTIVAL

1pm King Kong

60TH ANNIVERSARY!

3:30pm Giant


Where Shall I Go? What Shall I Do?: September 4th
The Summer Film Series draws to a close with everyone’s favorite romance

Sunday, September 4

6pm Gone With the Wind

Paramount Theatre

@ParamountAustin